Diwali Festival

Deepawali or Diwali festival is certainly the biggest and the brightest of all Hindu festivals. It’s the festival of lights (deep = light and avali = a row i.e., a row of lights). It marked by five days of celebration, which literally illumines the country with its brilliance, and dazzles all with its joy and fervor.

Each of the five days in the Diwali festival are celebrated in a different ways in different parts of India and the rest of the world. But what remains as the universal truth is the celebration of life, its enjoyment and goodness remains the same everywhere.

Before Diwali festival night, people clean, renovate and decorate their homes and offices. On Diwali festival night, Hindus dress up in new clothes or their best outfit, light up diyas (lamps and candles) inside and outside their home. Afterwards they take part in family puja (prayers) typically to Lakshmi – the goddess of wealth and prosperity. After puja commences, fireworks are followed by a family feast including mithai (Diwali sweets). Diwali festival is incomplete without an exchange of gifts between family members and close friends. Diwali festival also marks a major shopping period in all the countries where it is celebrated.

Diwali festival is an important festival for Hindus. The name of festive days as well as the rituals of Diwali vary significantly among Hindus, based on the region of India. In many parts of India, the festivities start with Dhanteras, followed by Naraka Chaturdasi on second day. Diwali falls on the third day. Diwali Padva dedicated to wife–husband relationship on the fourth day. And festivities end with Bhau-beej dedicated to sister–brother bond on the fifth day. Dhanteras usually falls eighteen days after Dussehra.

On the same night that Hindus celebrate Diwali, Jains celebrate a festival of lights to mark the attainment of moksha by Mahavira, and Sikhs celebrate Bandi Chhor Divas. Diwali festival is an official holiday in Nepal, India, Sri Lanka, Myanmar, Mauritius, Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago, Suriname, Malaysia, Singapore, Fiji and Pakistan.

Here, we can learn how Diwali festival is celebrated in different parts of India. Click on each link to know more.

Diwali in AssamDiwali in Bihar
Diwali in DelhiDiwali in Jammu and Kashmir
Diwali in PunjabDiwali in Orissa / Odisha
Diwali in RajasthanDiwali in Himachal Pradesh
Diwali in MaharashtraDiwali in Uttar Pradesh
Diwali in GujaratDiwali in Andhra Pradesh
Diwali in GoaDiwali in West Bengal
Diwali in Tamil NaduDiwali in Madhya Pradesh
Diwali in KeralaDiwali in Karnataka